Hen/Stag Nite-2/2
surviving the stripper, we headed down to our neighour Zouk.
ah. Zouk on Wednesday nights. who hasn't heard of it... MAMBO's the word, MAMBO's the game, MAMBO's the timeless draw.
Collie and Harbinger had gotten together at MAMBO too. back in those days, some 10 years ago now, we used to go on Wednesdays. i remember Harbinger coming with us. we didn't mind cos Collie wanted him around. and he turns out to be great fun to hang out with too, in those days. of course, things have changed. he's not just FUN but a friend now.
potato used to be around with his friends too. that's incidentally, also indirectly one of the times that started us going out. i remember one time potato was lying on the pavement outside Zouk, stoned. Collie and i were just leaving and i spied him on the ground. i wanted to talk to him but was shy and she dragged me over to him! he said he was alright and i said he's obviously not. and he was going to drive home too. so he wanted to smoke and i grabbed his pack of cigarettes and threw it behind me, over a fence. gosh!!! i wonder why he didn't slap me. it's almost sacrilegious. but we still laugh about that now... it was amazing.
almost a year later, we met again at MAMBO. he had been in the army for sometime now and had been MIA. we said hello and left our friends to go outside for a chat. he asked if i wanted a drink and i said i needed water actually. so we went to Wine Bar and i ordered an Evian and he, a Bourbon Coke. the waitress said, "Evian costs $8." i went, "WHAT!!!" and she repeated, "yes, it costs $8." potato said, "yes, give her the Evian." awww... sucker, haha. i still can't get over how Evian can cost more than Bourbon.
oh well. it would've been nice if potato was around now. would've been fitting. but he would probably not feel the same way, thinking i'm "juvenile". but you know what? i AM! *giggles*
so yes! when we were younger, we used to arrive as early as 7-8ish to get our entry chop, head for dinner before coming back to waltz past the guards.
we didn't do that this time.
as a result, we couldn't get in. well, we gave up. Eccentric had queued for slightly over an hour to get in. we started at 10pm and was still at the end of the queue by 11pm. as Harbinger said, we broke a record that night for being as far back in the line as we were at.
:(
so we went to KBOX at Selegie. which was alright. sang many songs, sang and sang. we got a HUGE room, for 15 or so people. and still, there were only 2 mics. grrr....
we were actually aiming to go back to Zouk much later but then got word that it was Full. *kwy*
we wanted so much to relive our old days... be back in MAMBO...
at 2am, Chinny got a call to say we could enter Zouk through Velvet and off we went! *half tired*
Velvet was Velvet. nice. we got in at 3am but were only allowed to go to Zouk at 3.30am. the saving grace was that Zouk was set to close only at 5.30am that night. or morning.
well, when we eventually got in, MAMBO was every bit as i remembered it. the last time i went there was with Blue Caps and his friends... where he had gotten drunk and ended up sleeping at the traffic light post and me exhausted, sitting there too, contemplating just sleeping there... it would, after all, have been easier than to convince him to get up.
so yes! Eccentric said he was near the DJ booth... which we tried to get to but gave up. and as we stopped shuffling towards the DJ booth, who should we run into but Eccentric himself! *haha* i love you guys.
he had been with a few CJCians who happened to have headed to MAMBO too. strange, weird world. maybe because it was a public holiday the next day, which explains why there were working adults there, and not just school kids and army boys.
one thing that's different about MAMBO as a sign of the changing times, retro includes songs from the 90s now too. so when they eventually played something from the 80s, people went mad.
it was a good night. it was great fun. i hardly drank nor smoked... i simply danced and danced... not having fully recovered from the Pasir Ris evening too. the music was great, i was lost in reliving those times... it felt like i came home to MAMBO. *hahahahaaa*
oh. i want to concede that the no-smoking rule in clubs might actually work well for me. the air smelt clean. and i smoked a lot less!

<< Home